Writer’s block

Assalamu’ Alaikum

A long hiatus of course and still I have no clue on how and what to write here and how to resume the much-needed written whining session.  And of course like all my previous writings, I can label my procrastination and laziness as writer’s block.

Yeah, writer’s block – a fancy term which we usually use to hide our laziness and mask our busyness, oblivion to the blogging world. Anyway. It’s a casual post and of course, I’m going to vent out and whine about my writer’s block as well.

So for the sake of convenience let’s define it. Wikipedia defines writer’s block as,

Writer’s block is a condition, primarily associated with writing, in which an author loses the ability to produce new work or experiences a creative slowdown. The condition ranges in difficulty from coming up with original ideas to being unable to produce a work for years.

Oh! I am so glad to find the word “years” in the definition. Now I can safely say that a hiatus that extended to a couple of years is actually a writer’s block. Thank you, Wikipedia!

Tbh, now I think it’s really a writer’s block since I can’t really find a sensible topic to articulate even after a long gap. Just yesterday I was teasing a friend about her writing. Sigh! One shouldn’t be hasty and shouldn’t tease her friends at least. Keep reminded about the fact, otherwise, you can suffer from worst kind of writer’s block and then all you can do is to post a gibberish write up like me.

Anyway, folks, that’s all for now! I hope, I’ll be able to write again insha’Allah and that too something sensible and regularly. Also thank you if you have been able to read all the post until this last sentence. You’re appreciated! 🙂

 

 

4 thoughts on “Writer’s block

  1. Nameless

    AOA, Thank you for your appreciation. Indeed I read till last words. Someone said ‘ Writing about a writer’s block is better than not writing at all ‘ We may argue with these words. Right or wrong…. Allah Knows …

    I used to write a lot…. Those days are gone now….. but one tip I can give here … atleast which worked miracles for me….

    … Reading …… Reading ….. & Reading !!!

    Stop thinking about writing …. Just read ….and with the beginning of Ramazan, What would be more beautiful to read than Allah’s letter to us. Aah … Our beloved has gifted us Holy Quran .. For you , For me….For everybody. This thought always gives me immense joy when I read the sacred text… My beloved is talking to me….. Aaah ….isn’t it a wonderful feeling ?

    Anyways…. so never worry about writer’s block …. It will go away itself…. Don’t make a conscious effort … Just concentrate on reading and in this process if any new idea popped up… note it down…. As easy as you like….

    Open a gap for ideas to flow in, create a space. Be patient.

    Samuel Johnson once said :

    The greatest part of a writer’s time is spent in reading, in order to write; a man will turn over half a library to make one book.”

    and in case you run out of plots and ideas , remember this :

    There is only one plot for writers …….” things are not what they seem.”

    Best wishes and Allah Hafiz.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

